“Gift”

" A box that gets attention"

" A box that gets attention"

On Friday, Betsy I got back from her conference in LasVegas. We sort of took a red-eye back, but it had a layover in Cleveland. The first leg was from 11pm to 5am and unfortunately there was a crying baby right behind us :(  Now I am not anti child at all, but hey…who takes an infant to LasVegas and takes the red-eye home? The final leg to Boston was good and we got a little sleep. We arrived around 9am and was home by 11am. We had a minor set back, because I accidentally took someone’s suitcase! Luckily we got a frantic call from the airport, right as we were in the taxi and were able to turn around.

We took a little nap and then got our lives started again. We had a nice time, but we were happy to be home. I managed to get into the shop and do a few things, emails, phone calls, order materials, pay some bills etc…I brought the mail in and found a very unexpected package.

I open it up and thought this must be some sort of mistake? A big new box from Phil Wood. Inside were a pair of the Phil/Blue Lug Tsunami fund raising hubs…absolutely beautiful.

'Phil Wood/Blue lug hubs"

'Phil Wood/Blue lug hubs"

At first I did not see the note, but then found it underneath the shipping label and to my surprise these hubs were sent as a gift to me from someone I do not know? I was flabbergasted! I felt so undeserving, but delighted at the same time.

"Nice note"

"Nice note"

Dear Mike:

Phil Wood ran this limited edition run of fixed hubs to raise funds for Japanese tsunami victims. Originally thought I had a bike idea to build around the hubs. Since changed my mind so have no use for them-other than helping out which I have done, of course.

I follow your blog and like your approach to your work and the people you go out of your way to help. I figure if any builder can put these to good use it will be you.

Hope you like them

Matthew J.

Matthew,

I will put them to good use. Thank you very much!

"Special tag for hubs"

"Special tag for hubs"

"Rear hub 18T cog"

"Rear hub 18T cog"

"Front hub"

"Front hub"

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Gift”

  1. Welcome home! What an amazing gift! Not quite a winning lottery ticket, but a whole lot more than most folks got. Can’t wait to see what you do with them.

  2. S. Molnar says:

    I predict Mike will use them to … wait for it … Build A Pair Of Wheels!

  3. A New Bike says:

    Hey We did a short story on a guy with an AntBikeMike, Jim. Maybe worth checking out: http://anewbike.com/antbikemike/

    • antbikemike says:

      Thanks for the link. I remember Jim E. A great guy and glad to have on one of my bikes. I listened to a few more of the interviews. Great idea :)

  4. Charlotte says:

    Wow, that’s wonderful! I agree with him, these hubs should go to you! Well done Matthew, thank you for choosing a really great guy to delight. :)

  5. TX Tim says:

    Amazing and wonderful, like you. I can’t wait to see what bike they end up on.

Leave a Reply

