“Arishost sucks!”

I am about to loose my domain antbikemike.com and the site will be down for sometime until I can get this worked out. The wordpress blog/site will stil be up, but most of my visits come from the website!

When I started ANT I used arishost.com for my web hosting and domain registration. They really suck! Many times when I needed help I would be on hold for hours or at least 45 min!… so after a few years of that, I sent my site to OLM.com and they have been good. However it was to complicted for me to move the domain from arishost, so I have been renewing with them all this time. I paid for another two years in Sept, but my control panel does not reflect that! They keep sending me emails saying that my domain is going to run out on the 15th of Jan.

I can not get in touch with arishost. They do not answer email. They do not answer the phone. I have been on hold with them for 4 fucking hours!!!!!!!!

I just built a set of wheels with a phone in my neck.

It is a good thing that I have this blog, but again most people have the link or find me through my site antbikemike.com.

It is very complicated and I just want to build bicycles…fucking assholes!

So if anyone ask you…what happen to Mikes website?…send them to the blog.

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Arishost sucks!”

  1. Hal says:

    Mike,

    You have my sympathy, when your webhost refuses to help you move your site, they have you by the short and curlies. Don’t worry, it will get straightened out.

    hal.

  2. Perry says:

    Mike,

    Possible problem: airhost is probably not a real registrar. This means that they are acting as a middleman and the name is with the real registrar (network solutions, enom, etc). Now let’s say airhost runs into some financial problems and they can’t pay the registrar the money they owe them. The registrar freezes airhost’s account and the domains can’t be renewed.

    1. Try to transfer the domain. First open and account with enom.com (or if you prefer someone else) and ifrequest a transfer. See if airhost proceeds with the process. It will likely require some verification of your identity. If this succeeds, tie it up for year with the new registrar and then try to get your money back from airhost. Report them ICAAN. Not they will do much though.

    2. If you can find the real registrar, chances are they are aware of the problem with airhost and they may be able to get your name registered with them. They may even be able to give you credit for the money you’ve paid airhost. That depends on how kindly they feel towards you.

    If you succeed with #2, I would leave the name with a large registrar (a real one vs. a place that acts a middleman). You can then set the DNS records to point to your website wherever it is currently or in the future. That’s the best way. No offense to your web host but they may be fine today and not tomorrow.

    PS. the expiration date is not the date the domain is lost. It stays “on hold” for a period of time (don’t recall exactly how long) before it get released into the pool again. So you may be able to get this done after the 15th. I know it’s a b*tch, but if you value the domain, it’s worth trying to save it if you can.

    Good luck!

  3. Perry says:

    Sorry for the typos. I hope it makes sense. I saved my domains in a similar horrible incident but it took some leg work. Don’t give up.

  4. -dan says:

    Hey Mike, appearently your email is suffering as well. I believe you have my number, I might be able to help.

  5. jim says:

    I’ve been using vortexhost for about 5 years for personal and business web hosting. They are affordable and have been attentive the few times I’ve had problems, usually fixing my mistakes for no charge or giving me free bandwidth when I’ve been fortunate enough to get more traffic than expected. The guy who runs that outfit must be a night owl because he always responds to my emails at 2 AM, but I am very satisfied with the service.

  6. 2whls3spds says:

    Hosts can be a real PITA. May I suggest a speaker phone to take the strain off your neck?

    Good Luck on getting it straightened out. FWIW we have used Netfirms for a couple of our commercial sites with very good results over the past 5 years.

    Aaron

  7. Rei says:

    Arishost went bankrupt and now my site is tuck there and I can’t move it or change it. Can’t get a hold of anyone either. Have you been able to get your domain transfered? I cant even find on their control panel where to put in new nameservers for a new host I got….. good luck…

  8. rock says:

    To Rei:
    Arishost was cheap, but ya, I can’t say they were good. I had much frustration with them over the years as well. Just discovered the bankrupt thing, so I had to do something. Just last week, arishost responded immediately to my email, so try their gmail.com email account, its on there page where it says they are out of business. They gave me my authorization code and I’m in process of transferring my domain elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

