“Website and old email down”

My website www.antbikemike.com and it’s email mike@antbikemike.com are down.

For the last few years I have been using gmail at  antbikemike@gmail.com and had the old mail forwarded to it, so if you all could just use the new gmail address, thanks.

It may be awhile before I can get the domain back and the site back up. On Monday I will do my best to get in touch with Tucows and try and get a domain name authorization code to move my domian from Arishost [did I mention that they suck and ripped me off].

The hits to the blog have dropped off a lot! Most of the hits came from the website:( At least I can still be found through a google search.

I finished up the new Boston Roadster, took photos and will be shipping it to Bicycling Magazine for a review for the May 09 issue.

boston-roadster-09-076

I need to make a page for the new bike, so stay tuned for that. It is not quite available yet as that I am waiting on front hubs and the chainring. The ring should be here pretty soon, but the front hubs are being brought in by Shimano for me. The front hubs is a Shimano Nexus dyno hub that can take a roller brake. The hubs are all over the world and have been around a long time….just not in America:(

The last two days have been butt cold! Yesterday morning it was -9…today it was -5…warmer I guess. However it is sunny and beutiful with all the snow on the ground. One thing that is neat about cold weather like this is when it warms up to say 20 or 30….man does it feel hot!

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Website and old email down”

  1. James Koole says:

    Hey Mike,

    I’m with Tucows/OpenSRS

    Drop me a line via email and I’ll see what we can do about that domain of yours – looks like it expired on Jan 15th. No problem…there’s lots of time, you just need to renew it and it’ll be back in business.

    • antbikemike says:

      James,
      Thanks….not sure if you had anything to do with fixing my domain issues, but it is back up. I had paid for my renewal in Sept…money taken from my bank to arishost…they are extremely difficult to work with.

  2. Perry says:

    Mike,

    Glad you have a plan to move on. I am no website/domain name expert but I know the basics from dealing with various websites over the years. If you think I can be of help, please e-mail me and I will do my best.

    In the face of a free-market-free-for-all economics, sometimes it simply comes down to the kindness of strangers and lord knows I’ve been helped many a time by people I don’t know. And in any case, I met you and Betsy at the last open house so I am not a stranger after all.🙂

  3. Tom says:

    Sorry to read about your problems with the website. Hopes this clears up soon.

    The new BR looks great. Attractive and practical component mix.

    Am I correct that the crank is Ashtabula? If, so is this a NOS or have you found a source for them? On bikes where weight is not a huge factor and easy maintenance a plus, Astabulas make sense.

    • antbikemike says:

      Tom,
      Thanks…I just got my website back today! I am still stuck with arishost, but at least they got it fixed.
      The cranks are an American crank and BB [one piece design], which can be bought from anywhere. Some people call these BMX too or one piece, but it is really called American. Astabulas were a brand [a good one] that is no longer made. The cranks pictured are a similar design and I use them to help with keeping the cost down on the bike…and I can have a cool chainring made, just like the old bikes:). To use an American crank you must have a frame built for it [with an American BB shell].
      Sincerely Mike

  4. Jason Cloutier says:

    Mike,

    Too bad about your website troubles. I hope you get it sorted out soon so you have one less thing to worry you.

    On a brighter note, the new Boston Roadster is very nice.

    What are your reasons for using a rear coaster brake (vs. a roller brake on the Shimano hub) and the one piece crank (my favorite – is that a Bomber chainring and are they still available?)

    Best wishes,
    Jason Cloutier
    Pawtucket, RI

    • antbikemike says:

      Jason,
      I got my website back today!
      I personally like coaster brake and I am always trying to get others to like it too….and it keeps the cost down, simplifies the bike some, looks much cleaner with less cables and levers, fits the shifter better on the handlebars…and makes it easier to hold a coffee cup while riding;) Also almost all of the Europeans use coaster brakes on their city bikes.
      It is funny in the past [about 20/25 years ago] almost all Americans liked coatser brakes….and it was hard to get them converted to caliper brakes…now it is just the opposite..
      I like the rear roller brake too and I am pretty sure that I will have to make this an option to be able to sell the bike, but it will have to come at an added price [not much but a little]
      Sincerely Mike

Leave a Reply

