“Henry Works Cycle”

My kids have a two hour delay for school today [for ice] and I am stuck at home for awhile. I thought I would check some email and found one from my friend Henry at Works Cycle

I have been meaning to get in touch with Henry for many years, but never wanted to call to Europe. When I found Henry Works Cycle I was very intrigued and after reading a bit about him I figured out that we had crossed paths many years ago [1989] at Fat City Cycles [Fat Chance].

Henry was working at Fat doing odd jobs and filling in here and there [doming, sand blasting whatever]. When I got there I had committed for extended service [kind of like an indentured servant]. Chris Chance hired me, took me back to the blast cabinet and told Henry to show me how to do it and then he could leave:(

It was a little bit of a weird start, but Henry was going to be taking a bunch of time off anyway, to drive someone’s car to Seattle and was not really interested in working his life away at Fat…and the rest is history;)

I finally made contact with Henry to talk about the bike transportation business and I was interested in buying some Shimano front dynamo hubs that use a roller brake. These are as common as dirt in Europe, but almost imppossible to get in the states. He is open to helping me out and hopefully someday Shimano America will be listening!

After talking with Henry about working at Fat it got me to thinking about old days at Fat. I have a bunch of old pictures of Fat City that I have been meaning to scan and up load to flicker…would anyone be interested in that?

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Henry Works Cycle”

  1. David says:

    “…old pictures of Fat City…”

    Of course!

  2. 2whls3spds says:

    Henry Cycles (Richard in particular) were very, very helpful in helping me source a Shimano Dynohub for roller brakes. My LBS had contacted Shimano USA and they refused to admit that such a hub even existed!

    Aaron

  3. Jeremy says:

    I’m sure the guys/gals over a the MTBR “Vintage, Retro, Classic” forum would LOVE to see some pictures of Fat City:

    http://forums.mtbr.com/forumdisplay.php?f=39

    They live for that kind of stuff.

  4. Dan H. says:

    Yes please. It would be great to see any images from FAT.

  5. msdottie says:

    My bike is a Work Cycle! That’s cool that you two used to work together.

  6. Dan O says:

    I’m an old Fat fan with an ’86 Fat Chance and ’91 Yo Eddy.

    That would great to see your Fat pics.

    Thanks.

  7. henry says:

    Mike,
    It was good fun talking the other day and it brought up fond memories of my short stint at Fat. I worked my way around the US bike industry but that place had a unique creative energy. Nowhere else would you find studded leather clad artisan athletes making bikes with a combination of high-tech and WW2 era machinery. All this in an old, drafty, leaking shed destined for destruction.

    Of the dozens of bikes I’ve owned my Wicked Fat is the only one I regret selling. It was pure no-BS quality, sound design and wouldn’t look at all strange in 2009.

    Looking forward to talking more.

    Regards from Amsterdam,
    Henry

    ps: it’s “WorkCycles”, no “S” in the middle and all one word😉

Leave a Reply

