“NAHBS 2010”

Betsy and I have changed our mind about attending the 2010 North American Handbuilt Bicycle Show! [NAHBS]

The show will be held Fed 26th to the 28th in Richmond VA, which is only 550 miles from ANT. We had planned on not going to the show, because of the cost involved [and with moving my shop], but I have some really great bikes in the works and want to show them off at NAHBS.

However we are going to need to do some major fund raising to get this done and we would like your help.

First I am offering a bike for sale. One that has not been built yet, so can be customized a bit.

What I have is a bunch of new parts, that have been bought for projects not done or parts for customers that changed their mind and or was sent the wrong part. I have a lot of nice stuff and a set of tubes that can build a variety of types of Roadsters.

The price will vary a bit for this bike, but an offer can be negotiated based on time of payment etc…I am looking for about $2,000.00

What I have for parts are:

  • 700C rims CR18 36 hole [polished silver or powder coated any color]
  • Schwalbe tires. Cream 700 x 35mm or 700 x 50mm
  • Soma alloy bars and some other bars too
  • Nitto technomic stem or ANT stem or Origin 8 threadless
  • Kalloy seat post
  • Brooks B17 in Black [maybe honey]
  • Honjo smooth, fluted fenders [silver, but can be coated]
  • VO headset 1″ threaded or 1 1/8″ threadless
  • Stainless steel chain
  • DT spokes
  • Origin 8 crank with Salsa ring [silver]
  • Chain guard [chrome or coated]
  • Greenfield sidestand with foot
  • alloy rear rack [very light] or ANT rack
  • Cork grips
  • VO BB sealed
  • brass bell or mirycle bell
  • B&M dyno powered lights

For hubs I have:

  • Shimano 8 speed Nexus, coaster brake
  • Sturmey Archer 3 speed, coaster brake
  • SRAM I 9 internal hub [rim brakes with this]
  • Front Sturmey Archer drum brake  dynomo hub
  • Shimano dyno front hub with roller brake
  • SRAM I Light dyno hub [rim brakes]
  • Fixed gear hub, Demension brand, silver

For the frame:

  • Light weight tube set
  • Can be mens diamond, swoop tube ladies frame or mixte
  • double top tube or curved tubes
  • brazed fork or tig fork, curved or straight
  • any color
  • Front rack can be built too

If you are interested, please get in touch asap. If you think you might know someone that would be interested, please spread the word.

Thanks Mike & Betsy

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “NAHBS 2010”

  1. JoeR says:

    Great news! Looking forward to meeting you and to seeing these projects.

  2. Aaron Garland says:

    I am a little bummed I saw your post so late. I live in Virginia and will be attending the show Saturday. I just spent $2K building my wife a bike with a Soma buena vista frame with almost the exact specs as you mentioned. I used a standard gearing system rather than a hub gear, because I was concerned with having a wide enough gear range for touring. I am still trying to figure out how to fit fenders on the bike with 35m tires, but I think if I get brakes with more clearance I will be able to make it work.

    I really admire your work and would have loved to get her a custom built bike (I wouldn’t have had to compromise style vs. function and the fenders would have fit), but felt that it was out of our price range.

    I hope that you are able to make it and that we see you there.

Leave a Reply

