“Philly Bike Expo was great”

The Philly Bike Expo was held in an old Armory that was very interesting and beautiful. The architecture in Philadelphia is really fantastic. You could spend weeks looking at buildings and houses.

We drove down and set up on Friday, then went to Engin Cycles for a pre-event party. Drew at Engin is doing some great work and has one of the best equipped shops around [and he knows what he is doing too].

 

We were hosted by our customer in NJ, Mark and his daughter Rachel. We were delivering Rachel’s bike and Mark has a Light Roadster in the making, that we will be taking to NAHBS in Austin. The were a lot of fun and we went to the City Tavern for dinner on Saturday.

The Expo was well attended and we would say a great success. Our hats are off to the organizers and all at Bilenky Cycles. This is their first show and they did a fantastic job and for sure will now be an annual event. And we got to see Hot Dog Man.

On Sunday they held a swap Meet out side and there were some fantastic bicycles out there, like this Schwinn Town & Country tandem and this Columbia Scorcher.

 

Like most shows, I did not get out of the booth very much, because the event was so well attended. So many people came by to say hello and see the bikes!

When we got back I had a package from Acorn Bags waiting for me at the post office :)  I bought some Acorn bags to use on a show bike for NAHBS. I have wanted some Acorn bags for a long time, but they are very hard to come by. I have to say well worth the effort to purchase their work. Really fantastic stuff.

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Philly Bike Expo was great”

  1. Drew says:

    Mike,
    It was so great to see you and Betsy this past weekend. I hope Philadelphia was fun for you guys and you were able to get some local flavor in while you quickly came and went during the weekend. Looking forward to Austin since it seems everyone is bringing the family in tow.

    Cheers,
    Drew

  2. I lived in Philadelphia 1997-2001, but unfortunately was not in touch with the bike scene there.

    The Philly Bike Expo sounds like it was an especially good show; I wish I could come to these things. That white loop frame bike with the chaincase and the truss frame bike look so fetching! …But the real question is: Did you make up with Bike Snob?

    • antbikemike says:

      I guess I got snubbed by Bike Snob? He walked right by our booth, but did not stop and say hello. I was hoping he would so I could apologise in person.
      One of my customers went to his book signing and someone in the crowd asked if he was mad at me or something like that. He said he was not and my customer had yelled out that I was not mad either. I think the only people that were mad in this whole debate were the Bike Snob followers.

  3. huff says:

    looks like the philly trip and show were great..the booth set up was really nicely done..thanks for all of the photos too..the armory looks like an old castle. we’ll talk to you soon!

  4. Eddie says:

    Hi Mike-
    Hope you are having a great holiday season and that all is well with you and your family. I just wanted to mention that there’s a photo of the MAD truss bike in the September 2010 issue of Esquire magazine. It’s on pg. 157 in a article titled ‘The Encyclopedia of Now – the people, places, and ideas that matters right now.’
    -Eddie

Leave a Reply

