“Al is amazed”

I got a letter from Al ‘The Van man” on Friday. He wanted to thank everyone for all the letters he had received. [I am sure he has gotten a lot more since then].

Al was so impressed with the out pouring of concern that he wrote to me and said that he now feels like not giving up just yet!  All said:

“You know how to make a grown man cry. I went to get my mail and I had a bunch of Christmas cards from people I didn’t know, from all over”

“I never thought there were still people like all of you left in the world”

They don’t know me from a hole in the wall, but yet they took the time out of their lives to send me a card and wish me well”

“After receiving your card and all the other cards and letters it picked up my spirits and made me want to go on with my life. It’s nice to know there are people out there who care for others whether they know you or not”

For people who had added a return address Al said he is going to send a note to each of you {this will give him some purpose for a while :}. Al asked about finding out the addresses of the anonymous card senders, but I will write to Al and tell him that many people would rather keep it that way.

I would like to say thank you to all that sent cards, letters, added links, face booked and such to get some needed attention to Al “the van man”

It will be interesting to see how this week ends up with the rest of the cards coming in and I will write to All and see how he is doing.

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “Al is amazed”

  1. Ben says:

    This is awesome! Many karma points to you, Mr. Mike.

  2. dreamlet says:

    That’s wonderful news! It’s great to know such a small thing can really brighten up someone’s outlook on life.

  3. Awesome Mike, this is great news! I’m sure a lot more cards are going to come in this week, mine included!

  4. Susan B. says:

    Hi Mike: I was just looking up your address so I could send YOU a card, and I found your posts about Al in Providence. I am glad I made extra cards so I can send one his way now too! Thanks for being so thoughtful and it’s wonderful to see so many folks respond to your request.🙂

  5. Dave Talsma says:

    We got a card and a copy of a thank you letter from Al today, he didn’t need to do that.

  6. : ) I am so glad this cheered him up

  7. paola says:

    Thanks for sharing this with Boston Biker! I just got a card from Al, and I am thrilled. Thanks for making this a Merry Christmas for all of us. I will be sure to keep up with Al.

  8. Andrew Israel says:

    Hello Mike and fellow Al enthusiasts:

    I just wanted to say it was an honor and a priveledge to send Al a card.
    To me this is what life is all about. Helping people. Thanks for helping me to remember this.

    Kudos to you Mike for being such a soulful man.

    Happy New Year,

    Andrew Israel

  9. John Hsu says:

    Just sent Al a Happy New Years card and a Subway gift card – it would be cool to keep this going for as long as we can.

    John (Tristan’s coworker)

Leave a Reply

