“Happy New Year”

Happy New Year 2011!

Betsy and I had a very nice New Years Day ride :)  The day was so warm and sunny, but also with cold air coming off the snow banks. A great way to start off the new year and we are looking forward to 2011. The ride was really good for me, because I had hurt my back real bad and missed a week of work! This was right before christmas and and it took about 6 visits to my chiropractor to get back to normal. I had so many plans to get all this work done before xmas and such. I just had to let it all go and focus on getting better. I am about 99% back to good health and the 32 mile ride really got my sprits up.

There are many exciting bikes to be built and show at this years NAHBS and we will be very focused on getting some back logged bicycles built and the NAHBS bikes. It is amazing to see how many new exhibitors will be showing and how many new bicycle builders there are now. It seems that a new bike builder is popping up everyday. I think this is a good thing and I am not to worried about having competition. I believe that having more and more builders, just means that bicycles are popular and that will help with winning more respect on the road and in the world.

There are so many new bike shows to attend now. The Bilenky guys are pressing me for payment for the Philly show [Oct and we will be going] and trying to get me to go to the San Diego show [April] and then there is the Oregon show, the Texas show and now a new one for New York City, slated for April 30th, called the “New Amsterdam Bicycle Show”, that will benefit Transportation Alternatives. The New York show, sounds like my kind of venue, which I believe will be geared toward the transportation cyclist? I just got the notice, so I will have to look into it.

I have been in my new shop location for a year now and I ready to make a few ergonomic changes in the shop layout and storage, so I can have some more breathing room and organization. I have a constant battle with keeping my shop organized and clutter free, mostly with cardboard and packaging. This is in part because I am a bicycle maker, not a frame builder. Complete bicycles components are unfortunately packed with lots and lots of packaging. I also have a ton of extra bits of good metal, that needs to be saved and does not always fit conveniently on a shelf. 

For 2011 I started advertising on the blog “Let’s Go Ride a Bike“. Dottie and Trisha do a great job at writing about their experiences on the roads of Chicago and Nashville. I am continuing my ads with my other favorite blogs of Lovely Bicycle and EcoVelo and my print ads with Momentum and Urban Velo

This weeks featured crafter is Babu Shoes. I somehow found these guys through Flicker and added them as a contact.

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Happy New Year”

  1. Happy New Year, Mike, and all the best in 2011!

    I am sorry to hear about your back, and wishing you a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

