“Road bikes”

Rick brazing DT mount

Rick brazing DT mount

Last weeks frame class was with a local person, Rick R from Wellesely MA. We made a Club Racer style road bike to fit fenders, TIG welded, straight blade fork [like I made in the IF days]. Rick had assembled a nice set of components, including Paul’s brakes & seat post, King head set, Selle Antomica saddle, bar end shifters and a Sugino crank with a 34/48T. Nice combo to make a great riding club bike.

Rick TIG welding

Rick TIG welding

Rick put his bike together quick and got a ride in this weekend and sent me a note about it.

Mike,
I just wanted to drop you a note to let you know how excited I am about the bike! I rode it yesterday and today, and, while I expected it to be comfortable, it has been surprisingly quick and stiff as well. It is a blast to ride. I set out yesterday morning for a quick 10 mile ride just to check some adjustments and ended up riding 50 miles just because I was having so much fun! Definitely will be my “go to” bike. I think the lower bottom bracket drop really adds to the feeling of stability and it tracks amazingly well. I hadn’t worried about toe overlap but it is nice not to have to even think about it. I had a great time building it with your guidance and corrections and really enjoyed the week. Aesthetically, I am very happy with how it turned out. I like the simplicity of the look, especially coupled with the performance. . Thanks so much for everything!

I hope you enjoyed the weekend. The weather has been really nice.
Rick

Rick's Road

Rick’s Road

 

 

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

