“Prorackstination”

"Welding with knee"

“Welding with knee”

I am a bit of a procrastinator about a lot of things, but one big one is rack making. It is not that bad once I get rolling, but they do take a lot of time for the amount you can charge for them. I delay it and find other things to do in the shop [there is always something to to]. My racks are made free hand with out any fixtures and it is difficult to keep things straight. I do not have a fixture, because each rack is made on the bike to fit around the various bits [forks height, width, brake type, wheel size etc…]. Plus bending is never really the same or at least for me, so it is hard for me to make the rods line up. Every time I make a rack I think that is the last one and I will just use either a Paul’s flatbed or some import rack.

"ANT D-Rack"

“ANT D-Rack”

"Frontal"

“Frontal”

This bike is for Hazel in Boston. She has been waiting since August 2011. Another very understanding customer that I appreciate very much. This bike embodies a lot of what I want a bike to be. Made with just about every one of my favorite American made components. Paul’s Components has really been coming out with a lot of great new stuff and today I noticed that they have a new much improved website.

Making a bike with USA made components are really much better. Not just because blah, blah it’s cool to be MUSA, buy local etc…the components quality are really unmatched. The biggest visible value is the crank, rings and freewheel from either Paul’s or White Industries [maybe Phil Wood too, but I have not used yet]. When you run a single speed the chain tension or out of roundness can be seen when you pedal the bike in the stand. The Import made stuff just wobbles all over the place and you can see the chain tighten and loosen with every rotation. With a Paul’s crank and a White industries freewheel…rock steady!

While it is worth every penny, you do have to pay for it. A fully equipped ANT with USA components cost around $5,000.00 or more. A lot to pay for a single speed city bike. can you use it, can you lock it up. Yes you can and often people do. I have to take the same parking/locking precautions wither the bike cost $1,000.00 or $5,000.00  The only way I could care less if the bike cost from nothing to say $300.00.

Good safe bike parking…that is the future for improving the quality of life of riding in the city…well there is all that other stuff like having a safe place to ride [that actually goes where you want to go] and not getting hit by a drunk driver/ road rage etc..

'Paul's cranks"

‘Paul’s cranks”

"Hazel's bike"

“Hazel’s bike”

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Prorackstination”

  1. Alan Barnard says:

    Mike,

    That’s the most beautiful bike I’ve seen in a very long time.

    Regards,
    Alan (EcoVelo)

    • antbikemike says:

      Alan,

      Thank you very much. Nice to hear from you. We still have snow on the ground here and it was cold taking these pictures here this morning!

  2. Rick Houston says:

    I’ll definitely second Alan’s opinion: what a beautiful bicycle, Mike. Please let us know when you and Betsy are on the west coast.

  3. stevep33 says:

    The D rack is terrific. I can’t believe that was made free hand.
    btw, where is that stretch of dirt? I can’t place it.

  4. Hal Render says:

    Wow. Just, wow.

  5. zak says:

    I know I personally love my D-Rack and consider myself lucky to have it.

  6. carlos says:

    it indeed is a WOW to look at this bike

  7. Phil says:

    Echoing previous comments, this is a stunner, I especially like the interaction of the lugs, the geometry, and the finish.
    Where do the handlebars come from? These seem to have less rise than the usual upright-style handlebar.

  8. Ryan says:

    so nice.

  9. Pingback: Baby Steps | Randal Putnam Loves to Pedal

  10. Tim in Texas says:

    Lovely bike, as always.

  11. David P. says:

    Man, that bike is awesome! Work of art….

Leave a Reply

