“A new begining”

Seven Cycles

I have decided to accept a full time welding position at Seven Cycles and will be starting there on Jan 5th 2015.

Seven Welding

ANT operations will be closed up and will be selling most of my equipment to one of my students who is making a go at it called Vigo Cycles. Vigo might not be taking everything and I will have some things to sell, so if you are interested stayed tuned for a tool list to be posted. Vigo also took classes with Hot Tubes and has been working with Toby on building up the Vigo brand.

I am going to keep just enough tooling for a home shop to continue make bicycles, but on a part time basis and without taking any orders. The website, blog, Facebook, Instagram and Flickr will still be used. I will be showing my work at Seven, Seven events, riding bikes and eventually what I am making at home for fun and to sell, after the bike is made.

I have been friends with the core group at Seven for 25 years. Not sure if most know, but Fat City Cycles and Merlin were the feeders to Independent Fabrication and Seven. Fat and Merlin were right next door to each other and we ate lunch together everyday, rode bikes together and socialized a lot. So this is an easy transition and I am really looking forward to working at Seven.

Seven is a great place that is clean, well organized and does great work. The crew there rides bikes and are good people to be around, which makes a great work environment. Students and others interested in getting into the frame building business always ask me about how and where to get into the business and I have always told them “Get a job at Seven”…well I guess I am taking my own advice🙂

ANT has been a full time operation for 12 years now, have made about 480 bikes [mostly complete] and taught about 60 classes. The numbers need to be higher to keep this kind of shop going.

I have some orders to complete, repairs to finish and a few warranties to finalize before I close up: I will email each of you, but thought I would post if you saw this before I got in contact.

  • Marc L : Assemble and ship
  • Joe B : Coat, assemble and ship
  • Blue Lug : Coat, ship
  • Gregor R : Weld
  • Brian G : Weld
  • Van H : fork: Weld
  • Joel E : Weld
  • Joel E : Weld
  •  Clay : Weld
  • David W : Repair,Coat, assemble
  • Rod L , fork: Weld
  • Nat R fork: Weld
  • Rachael N : Coat, assemble

Sincerely, Mike Flanigan

About antbikemike

Bicycle frame builder
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to “A new begining”

  1. This is big news. I hope this change is a positive one for you!

  2. stevep33 says:

    Wow.
    Will you be working with steel at Seven? Ti too?

  3. Forbes Black says:

    Seven is lucky to get you, Mike. Thanks for everything that you brought to the bicycling world through ANT!

  4. Dave says:

    Will this put and end to your frame building courses?

    • antbikemike says:

      No more bike classes from me. I enjoyed doing them, but they kind of ran out and did not have enough to keep going. I am not interested in teaching at my house, so that is the end of it.

      • Dave says:

        I feel for you Mike, I really do. You have my best and hope that you have great success with your new beginning!

  5. Max says:

    Have a great time working at Seven Mike. Working there for 8 years certainly taught me a lot about making things well as well as being in a redponsable and sustainable business making a high quality product. Plus you get to work w some great folks too.

    I must say that I am rather surprised but can also understand that it will be a relief to have the support snd structure of a well run company.

    Congrats!

    • antbikemike says:

      I just ran out of work. People just don’t buy bikes from me anymore. The classes have been great and I enjoy them, but they do not have the padding of a big backlog of bikes on order. Now that I am going to Seven I am actually really happy to be going to the bench and welding. I no longer have to sell or take orders for bikes I am not interested in.

  6. Rick Moffat says:

    Best of luck, Mike. Always enjoyed seeing the unique and lovely output from ANT over the years.

  7. Robert says:

    Best of luck!

  8. Pingback: Just like the arctic polar vortex | Funding Help

  9. tastewar says:

    Best of wishes, Mike! Always enjoyed reading what you wrote and looking at (and lusting after) your bikes.

  10. Mark Manson says:

    Mike, what you’ve done with ANT can fill volumes. So inspiring to so many people. Seven is damn lucky to have you. I pray now you can relax and not worry about “paying the rent” and concentrate on having fun building bikes. Best of luck to you, Sir!

  11. Jurgen says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about the downturn in your business (the bicycle biz seems to be wildly cyclical), but wish you the best in your new venture. I’m still loving my (dark red) ANT roadbike and expect it to outlive me. The welds are so totally organic…I admire them before every ride. Sure hope you find the time to make a few for your own delectation.

  12. Alistair Spence. says:

    Hey Mike, just wanted to wish you the very best in your new endeavor. With ANT, I feel that you walked the walk, big time. I’m sure you are are proud of the what you built ANT into, and the bikes that came out of it.

    All the very best to you sir.

  13. Matt in AZ says:

    Hey Mike, sorry to hear about you closing shop. I’m still riding almost daily one of the first ANT bikes you ever built (probably from before you went into full operation) and that Boston Roadster has been the smoothest ride I’ve ever owned. Your motto “Not sport … transport” has been mine for all these years. From your post it sounds like a great new adventure and trading in your independence will not impact your craftsmanship and professionalism.

    Wishing you the very best at Seven!

    Matt in AZ

  14. saxtont47 says:

    Wow

    I hope all goes well for you, I was actually just on your website looking for a class opening…timing is everything.

    I have finally decided on the bike business I want to own, it’ll be a business focused on transport bikes, but mainly on restoring and repurposing older frames for transportation purposes. I still would have liked to design and build a single speed commuter bike for sale. I plan to transition next year into my new work reality, there is a lot of planning to do but have set up some classes and getting ready to put my house on the market.

    I have been inspired by the work you do and wish you all the best, would it be ok if I asked you for advise from time to time?

    Trevor

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • antbikemike says:

      Trevor,

      Sorry we could not get you in here, before I shut down. I will be available to consult and would suggest taking a course from my friend Toby at Hot Tubes in Shirley MA.

  15. Good luck at Seven, you will add a lot to a great company. I’m happy I got to spend time with you and your family. Working with you and our rides into Boston are just some of the highlights of my time at you shop.
    Your friend, Michael

  16. phil smith says:

    Mike,
    Good luck with the new adventure. Like many/most/all of the others of The ANT Colony, I see my ANT bicycle as daily transport, weekend recreation, and rolling art; as you noted, it is the “go to” bicycle. I’m sure you enjoyed building some bicycles more than others, but seeing the images of others’ ANT bikes over the years on your website, it’s hard to imagine that you regarded any of them as strictly utilitarian devices. I regard it as my good fortunate to be one of the 480 and plan to enjoy my LR/URT for years and years to come.
    Two thoughts,
    1. The bikes are numbered, a registry of your bicycles would be a cool thing to keep track of who and where they’ve gone
    2. the ANT experience sounds like a book……………….

    Phil
    F’ton CT

  17. Robby Flanigan says:

    Mike,
    Seven Cycles is getting an asset greater than any tool or item they could ever purchase.
    Your experience and work ethic is beyond compensation. Not to mention your coolness.
    Obviously I am biased being your brother. But if they know you like I do then they know how lucky they are.
    In some ways it is sad to see such a bike industry guru moving on. But this will be good for the soul. I know this is a good move for you at this time you have always been serendipitous in your endeavors but it has never truly been through luck. It has only been through your hard work and extreme talent that you have reached such pinnacles of success. I love you and wish you all the Greatest!!!

  18. Pingback: Oh Person | Randal Putnam Loves to Pedal

  19. frankeason says:

    Congratulations Mike! I am sure Seven is happy to have you!

  20. Norman Favit says:

    Good Luck with this new opportunity Mike! Seven are so lucky to have you on their team.

    Norman Favit
    Montreal
    ANT #326

  21. Steven Molnar says:

    Artist, craftsman, visionary, salesman. Three out of four ain’t bad. The world was not ready for a Scorcher with an Ashtabula crankset.

    Good luck at the new place.

  22. wheelgoods says:

    They already have a Mike, so you’ll need a work name.
    And avoid the doughnut cultists unless you want to gain weight. They must be psyched to get you on the shop floor! Good luck to you and especially with a winter bike commute. Folder on commuter rail?

  23. wheelgoods says:

    Moustache or Stash? Antie M.?

  24. joeremi says:

    I’m sad to see the ANT shop (mostly) close, but this sounds like a positive move for you, Mike. Good luck!

  25. cguzofsk says:

    Hi Mike,
    As I am sure this was a tough decision, as a bicycle enthusiast, I am excited for you on this new chapter. I certainly have been influenced by your cycling ethos and passion over the years. When I lived in MA, several years ago, I dropped by your shop for some help with a quick welding job on a chopper bike I was building up. I really appreciated your time and perspective. As luck would have it, I am currently looking into building up an Evergreen, so perhaps your skill will have touched my Monster Fat, my chopper, AND my Seven.
    I truly wish you all the best.
    Chris

  26. Brad Gantt says:

    Hi Mike. Can’t believe I missed this news. It looks like I waited too long to order my ANT. I have been a huge fan of your work since the beginning, but just couldn’t make the $$ work to place an order. I wish you the best at Seven. I am the proud owner of a 15 year-old Seven Ti MTB that I absolutely love to ride. Can’t wait to follow your work up in Watertown! Enjoy the simplicity and peace of mind that is sure to come.

Leave a Reply

